What body armor do you wear for DH??

astrizzle
Fantasy
2792nd
Edited Date/Time 12/27/2020 8:11pm
It seems like since I started riding DH I have always been trying new combos/different types of body armor to wear when I ride. I have quite a collection of body armor now but I STILL don't know what is right for me. I know that there is no way to protect EVERYTHING while riding and it is really important to me that I am able to move somewhat freely when I ride. I see that pros usually don't wear much in the way of armor, so is there anyone that can help me decide what needs to be covered and what I could skip?
|
bjenson
3/3/2011 5:17pm
Well, what body parts can you do without? Haha.

Armor is a personal preference thing for most. I rock a 661 Core Suit which allows me to move freely but still have some protection. It covers my kidneys, my chest, and spine pretty well. My elbows occasionally get scratched up but for the most part I feel protected enough.
bturman
Fantasy
3134th
3/3/2011 5:18pm
Dainese also has a new upper suit for 2011 called the Dynamo Armor Jacket that looks really nice. It should prevent major road rash and still allow me to move well.

astrizzle
Fantasy
2792nd
3/3/2011 5:47pm
bturman, do you know if that new dianese armor will work with an alpine stars neck brace by chance??
bturman
Fantasy
3134th
3/4/2011 12:04am
astrizzle wrote:
bturman, do you know if that new dianese armor will work with an alpine stars neck brace by chance??
Maybe. I don't think there is any padding in the front, so that won't affect it. The rear support would likely have to go over the spine guard, though. It's pretty thin, so it might work.
sspomer
Fantasy
35th
3/4/2011 7:41am
that suit looks pretty cool. i haven't worn upper armor in a while, but something like that looks comfy.
Shenzi
3/7/2011 8:23am