2011 Specialized Enduro or Pitch?

Edited Date/Time 8/16/2014 12:22pm
Hey guys,

I have been riding a Giant Warp DS for around 5 years now which has done its job on XC trails. Recently I have been getting in to a lot of downhill riding and have decided it's time to upgrade my bike. Right now I am looking at the specialized Enduro Comp. ($3,000) or Pitch pro ($2,400). The reason I am not looking to buy a DH only bike is because I do not want to restrict myself to only being able to do DH on the bike. I want to have a versatile bike that I can ride XC with AND take to the DH courses.

The thing that makes me unable to decide on which bike to get is the price. I am a college student so price is definitely something that I am taking in to consideration. I want to know your guys' opinion on whether it is worth it to spend the extra $600 to get the enduro or will the pitch be enough for me?

Another thing I was wondering is when does Specialized come out with their 2012 lineup of bikes? Maybe it's worth waiting until next years bikes come out to upgrade.

Thanks.
|
k.shiz
5/21/2011 5:47pm
The Pitch is what I ride and there are very few things on the market that would get me off that bike. I've upgraded just about everything since initially buying the Pitch but the frame itself has lived up to all of my expectations and is my go-to bike for having fun. I've ridden plenty of downhill trails on it and aside from the most hairball rock gardens and the most ridiculous straight high speed stuff, it handles it all just fine. It's 3/4 of a downhill bike in my eyes and as a result, I can go into normal public trails and push the bike as hard as I want to. It climbs alright, but then again nothing in the 6" trail bike range is meant to fly uphill.