Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Troy Lee Designs XC Gloves

“They do the job”

C138_13tld_xc_glove_blk

The Good:

Good air flow, light weight, large variety of colours and sizes, touch screen compatible, leather edging near wrist.

The Bad:

Velcro strap stops working, too thin for long rides, TLD logo peels off .

Overall Review: I have been riding with these gloves for 9 months now and have overall been satisfied with how they have protected my hands. They have covered a large variety of impacts, from the big step down crashes to the embarrassing "i couldn't un-clip from my pedals" falls. I'll start with the negative and end with the good. THE NEGATIVE Velcro strap: The velcro strap which keeps the glove tight around your wrist is the main negative and let down in this product. After about 10 rides the velcro strap looses it's strength and manges to comes loose constantly when riding. It is a fairly bignuisancewhen you have to re-strap it Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 4 48 1

2016 Specialized Rhyme FSR Comp 650b

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Specialized Rhyme FSR Comp 650b”

C138_rhyme_fsr_comp_650b_satin_cool_grey
Reviewed by Courtney Steen and Amanda Richter // Photos by Lear Miller At the 2016 Vital MTB Test Sessions, we ladies got the chance to sample a few of the latest trail/all-mountain bikes to see how they perform for women. With a smorgasbord of bikes ranging from 120 to 160mm travel, women-specific to unisex, and a price range from about $3,000 to over $9,000, how is one to choose?! This year we tested three bikes in the 150 to 160mm travel range that may be options to consider. We put them (and ourselves) to the test on South Mountain's trails in Phoenix, Arizona - a moonscape of rowdy rock sections, decomposed Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1141 92 5472 1045 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 235 1015 2000 111 40

FOX Float X2 Factory Rear Shock

“Fox Float X2 review”

C138_floatx2_shock

The Good:

Very plush, amazing to ride on

The Bad:

Daunting to tune to your specs

Overall Review: After having a blowout with the stock Monarch Plus R which came with my Norco Range c7.3, I made the decision to upgrade to something which will hopefully last me a fair bit longer. The Norco Range c7.3 uses a 8.5” (215.9mm) and 2.5” (63.5mm) shock size, and the Fox Float X2 is available in a size which fits perfectly. The bike was designed around an air shock, so I preferred to stick with that. The main reason I was interested in this is because of the terrain I ride mostly, which has a DH track, and very technical trails. It seemed Fox was working hard to make this a truly capable downhill air shock. After polling Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
Vital MTB member MTN_BIKE_GEEK
39137 MTN_BIKE_GEEK http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/39137/avatar/c50_JonMacFren3_1453445954.jpg?1453445578 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MTN-BIKE-GEEK,39137/all 01/21/16 1

100% Brisker Gloves

Featured Review

“100% Brisker Glove Review”

C138_10006_001

The Good:

Minimum bulk for winter glove, provides great feel of the handlebar, brake levers, and shifter. Nice feeling materials. Wind resistant. Velcro closure allows me to create a seal with the cuff of a long sleeve top. Not too hot after temperature transitions from cool morning to warm afternoon.

The Bad:

Touchscreen capability is almost nonexistent until the glove is dampened with sweat or a couple drops of water from my hydration pack. Fit is a bit off, could just be my hand size/shape. Only two color choices, but not a deal breaker.

Overall Review: I have been using 100% products since their comeback to the motocross scene a few years ago. I have several pairs of their goggles for motocross and have been using the i-track glove on both the dirt bike and mountain bike. I have come to trust the quality and performance of their products. The Brisker glove has been my most recent 100% purchase and I have been using them for below 50f riding since Nov. 2015. I chose a black pair in size Large. The glove is easy to put on and take off but the fit is a little funny. My right glove fits as well as I could hope for but the left one does not fit as well. The thumb of the left glove is Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
Vital MTB member nuke
34829 nuke /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/nuke,34829/all 04/08/15 2 6 1 2

2016 Turner RFX v4.0 GX

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Turner RFX v4.0 GX”

C138_2016_turner_rfx_v4.0_bike
Reviewed by Fred Robinson and AJ Barlas // Photos by Lear Miller Turner fans, rejoice! The often coveted Turner RFX is finally back, this time in a 27.5 carbon-framed package. The bike features DW-link suspension with 160mm of travel, more aggressive geometry, and several little touches that add up to a much improved ride. Given the long wait and the amount of R&D that went into it, we were excited to see how the RFX would stack up at the 2016 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Highlights Carbon frame 27.5 (650b) wheels 160mm (6.3-inches) of front and rear wheel travel DW-link suspension EnduroMax bearings Tapered headtube External Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
TRex
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1141 92 5472 1045 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 235 1015 2000 111 40

iXS Trail RS Helmet

Featured Review

“Solid and Comfortable All-Mountain Helmet”

C138_ixs_trail_rs_helmet_blue

The Good:

Great fit
Comfortable
Good posterior skull protection
Stays put during impacts
Great ventilation
Works well with glasses or goggles

The Bad:

Chin strap pad sits off to the side, not under your chin
No bug netting on front vents
Side protection could be a little lower depending on your head shape

Overall Review: This is an outstanding all-mountain MTB helmet. The helmet is comfortable to wear, feels secure on your head and offers great posterior skull protection. Visor mounting is solid with three attachment points. Visor offers protection but doesn't obscure your vision. The only improvements I'd recommend would be to ditch or change the chin strap pad and bring the sides of the helmet down a little bit. The chin strap ends up off to the side, not under your chin. The helmet could offer a little more temporal protection with slightly more helmet around the ear area. Again, an outstanding helmet. On par or better than similar offerings from Smith, Troy Lee, Bell, etc.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_IMG_3514_1434769476.jpg?1434768776 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 7

iXS Skid Pants EVO I Body Armor

“Good Padded Inner Shorts”

C138_87047360_1286213967

The Good:

Solid construction
Good pad placement
Chamois pad

The Bad:

They run very small for their size

Overall Review: IXS did a good job with these shorts. Construction quality looks and feels solid. The pads are thick but not too thick and placement is well thought out. The have a good Chamois pad. However, boy do they run small. I mean not a little tight small, but way too tight small. So, based off their size chart, go up one or maybe even two sizes. I'd give them four stars if they were sized correctly.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
bturman
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_IMG_3514_1434769476.jpg?1434768776 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 7

RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork

“Better for 2016?”

C138_fs_pike_2715_blk_tpr_a17l

The Good:

Great small bump performance
Easy to maintain
Good adjustablity
Light
Better seals

The Bad:

Tight clearance with some 2.4 and 2.5 tires
Lacks high speed compression adjustment

Overall Review: This is a review for the 2016 160mm RCT3 Solo Air Pike So, what is noticeably different for 2016? Well, the initial action feels smoother and there is less static sag compared to previous models. New seals? Surprisingly, I am running this fork with one less bottomless token with less frequent bottoming compared to previous models. The lowers now have a gloss finish vice the flat finish found on last year's model. Overall, there are some small but noticeable improvements made for 2016. Nothing to go out and ditch your old Pike for; however, welcome improvements nonetheless. I can't wait to try the new Lyric next.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
bturman
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_IMG_3514_1434769476.jpg?1434768776 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 7

FOX Float X2 Factory Rear Shock

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 FOX Float X2 Shock”

C138_floatx2_shock
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Nils Hjord, Johan Hjord, and Brandon Turman We first spotted an interesting new rear shock design from FOX’s Racing Application Development (”RAD”) program on Greg Minnaar’s World Champs bike in 2013. Fast forward to spring of 2015, and the DHX2 and Float X2 shocks were publically introduced, taking direct aim at the gravity crowd. Based on a twin-tube damper design, a first for the fox tail, the new shocks are FOX’s most adjustable offering to date. Together with the Float 36 RC2 fork we reviewed earlier this year, we laid our hands on the airsprung Float X2 and set off to find out Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
Roll X
ripdogg1
Alex1
SBRDUDE1
av_mayne
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 744 52 684 1648 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 31 250 3079 72 23

2016 Orbea Occam AM M30

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Orbea Occam AM M30”

C138_2016_orbea_occam_am_m30
Reviewed by Fred Robinson and AJ Barlas // Photos by Lear Miller When talking trail bikes, we've always focused on the aggressive end of the spectrum here at Vital, which is why up until 2016 you never heard much about the Orbea Occam. Previously very XC in nature, this bike has seen a massive redesign for the new year, and now features much more relaxed angles, a longer front end, shorter rear end, and lower bottom bracket height. Toss in a 27.5 version and a new suspension design with more travel and you've captured our interest with a bike that looks capable of truly rallying through the rough bits. Curious to see how it Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
×
Members who like this review
SBRDUDE1
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1141 92 5472 1045 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 235 1015 2000 111 40